Internal VLANs

CCIE #49534

All of us or most of us are aware of the famous VLAN types, the Standard and Extended VLAN’s, which to some extent makes sense. The Standard VLAN’s have a range starting from 1 up to 1005 including the last four VLAN’s in the same range for legacy technologies/protocols.

In the other side the Extended range of VLAN’s start from 1006 up to 4094 and not all the time or not everywhere you can use them, this comes with some limitations. For example trying to assign a VLAN number between 1006-4094 in a Layer 2 switchport would most of the time not be allowed, especially in older Cisco Catalyst switches. Anyway to be able to use the Extended VLAN’s one of the solutions is to have the Switch running VTP version 3, and another solution is to use VTP version 2 but the Catalyst switch must be running in VTP…

View original post 319 more words


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s