Increase Cisco TFTP speed


not (always) the network

I was recently copying a fairly large 400 MB IOS image to one of our ASR routers and it was taking forever via TFTP.  I had seen this before but never really took any time to look into it further. I always switched to FTP, the transfer went faster, and I never looked back.  This time I decided to go to Wireshark and take a deeper look. In this post I’ll show you why it’s slow and how to improve the speed, but perhaps more importantly, how to get to the bottom of something like this using Wireshark. 

Default TFTP Setting

I performed a packet capture on a TFTP session using the default Cisco router and TFTP server settings.  It immediately became clear what the issue was.  Here is a screenshot as well as a link to part of the capture file on Cloudshark.

tftpdefaultscreencap

The length of each of the…

View original post 465 more words

Leave a Reply

